top of page
  • Jen

My Favourite Podcasts of 2018

"It's television for your ears"-Pacific Northwest Stories

I love podcasts, they are such a cool medium to tell stories on. Yes, I'm aware that there have been audio dramas for years and Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy started as one, but I feel like in the last few years podcast have gained traction. Especially with Limetown, Lore and others being adapted to the silver screen. These aren't really in order, I'm just picking 10 that I listen to that you should give a shot! They are all fantasy or true crime podcasts, obviously, I mean that's what I read as well.

Here we go:


1.) The Black Tapes

Genre: Docudrama by Pacific Northwest Stories

Summary: An investigative journalist (Alex) stumbles upon the Black Tapes, which show things that can't be explained. Dr. Strand doesn't believe in ghosts and has offered a great deal of money if someone can prove the existence. It's kinda like Sully (Strand) and Mulder (Alex) in the hope it exists. As the story progresses, Dr. Strand's past gets more mysterious and the figurative and literal shorts that haunt them.

This was my first foray into the podcast world. I love ghost stories and my friend was listening to it and thought I would love it. The first season is definitely the best, as we are left literally in the dark about what's going on. I'm not an audio book person, so for years I thought that I'd hate podcasts, as there is no picture haha. I don't know if this is a highlight, but their incorporation of advertising is hilarious. "When I am out ghost hunting, I need comfortable socks. Bombus socks help with this!". "When we are mailing our black tapes across the country, we make sure to use Stamps.com". No this is not an advertisement for them, but the cheesiness on TBT is great.

Tl;dr: Fun podcast if you like horror.

Apparently this is being developed into a TV show? I'm not sure how I feel about that.


2.) Mabel:

Genre: Fantasy (some might say horror, but I think it's just fantasy)

Mabel is a fictional podcast about strange homes, fairies, missed connections and the strange parts of a home. It starts out with Anna as a live in care taker for Mabel's grandmother and leaving voicemails on Mabel's phone. It progresses from there, but I don't want to give to much away. It started out a little slow, but than once I got into it, I was addicted.


3.) Darkest Nights

Genre: Horror

Podcast Network (I'm going to be honest, I'm not sure what this is called): Paragon Collected

An evil corporation with strange motives. A scientist and Katie (new hire) experience memories by plugging an eye into a machine. You, the listening, are fully immersed into the memory and feel like it's happening all around you. Katie's told not to ask questions. Each episode has its own story that connects to an over aching narrative and it gets more sinister as it goes on.

Note: It's dark and creepy, not for people who aren't fans of horror.

This podcast has Dennis O'Hare, good writing and an interesting story. I enjoy it, but some episodes do get a little much.


4.) Limetown

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

"10 years ago, over three hundred men, woman and children disappeared from a small town in Tennessee never to be heard from again.". Lia Haddock is investigating the disappearance and it's a secret that is meant to be buried. The 2nd season is completely different.

I don't want to go into too much detail past the main characters name and disappearing town. I was really disappointed with the finale, after it took a 3 year hiatus. But the first season is honestly perfection, and honestly one of the best stories I've seen on podcast, film, television and books.

Sidenote: I remember when this podcast came out, there was an influx of disappearing towns on r/nosleep. I was super down the rabbit hole of these stories back in the day. If your bored here's my favourite that I'm certain was inspired by Limetown: Infected Town. Lime town came out in 2015, and this says 4 years ago... Idk maybe not? But either way I remember a trend around this time and they all reminded me of each other.


5.) Deadly Manners

Genre: Mystery

Paragan Collective

Basically Clue in podcast form. Someones dies at a dinner party, and they have to figure out who it is before it's too late.

Kristen Bell, Dennis O'Hare and Rupaul are in this. It's guaranteed to be good. It's a fun 10 episode contained series.


6.) In the Dark

Genre: True Crime

My friend (different one from TBT) recommend this to me. Each season is about a different case. The first season is about who took Jacob Wetterling.

I think this was well done and well researched, it didn't bring too much bias into it.


7.) Missing and Murdered Genre: True Crime

CBC

This is a true crime podcast focusing on what happened to different Aboriginals. I think this one is well done, but a little too much bias. It bothered me at times actually, even if the cases were interesting. This brings up Canadian Aboriginal cases and issues that are covered up in history. For instance, not a single person I know has heard of the 60s scoop. So if you take the bias out of the equation its a good podcast.


8.) Lore

Genre: Non-Fiction, Anthology, Horror

Each week Aaron Mahnke discusses a different folklore story, typically in the story. Sometimes its serial killers (like HH Holmes), sometimes it's historical (the lady who gives birth to rabbits or about famous ships) but it's virtually always American. He has a very soothing voice, so perfect to listen to before bed. And if you don't like an episode? You can just skip it and catch the next one :).


9.) The Bridge

Genre: Fantasy, Alternative History

Set in an alternative 2016, there is a transcontential bridge that connects Europe to America. The Bridge (and it's elaborate attractions) has since been abandoned, aside from a few people in charge of staying in a Watch Tower and overseeing anyones comings and goings across the bridge.

The idea is really interesting and has lots going on. My one complaint, is sometimes it feels like the podcast wants to be too many things at once. Some episodes it works, sometimes it doesn't. The different people in the watch tower is great, the story of why it was abandoned and the mini episodes are great. I feel like the newer episodes have changed the direction of the show though.


10.) Serial

Genre: True Crime

This American Life

I was debating not mentioning this one, since it's so popular and I wanted to do ones that haven't got the same amount of love. Hell, I'm pretty sure that Noah referenced this one on MTV's Scream. But it's revolutionary and inspired a lot of other podcasts with the format. The first season was about Sarah Koening investigating the case of Adnan Syed, who was accused of killing his girlfriend. The 2nd was about an American Solider who was tortured and accused of being a deserter. The third season is about cases in Cleveland, that are somewhat strange cases/outcomes.

I'll be honest, I never finished the 2nd season, as I thought it was too boring. But I love the first season and the third season. If your unsure about podcasts, give this one a try. It became a pop cultural phenomenon for a reason and made podcasts (especially true crime ones) more mainstream.


Honourable mentions that I listen to, but aren't in my top 10: Life After/The Message (I'm still not sure if they are in the same world or what), Phoebe's Fall, Help Me, Places of Legend.

Happy listening!

Cheers,

Jen!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Top 10 Favourite Books

This is literally like picking my favourite children. This is next to impossible for me. But I'll do my best, probably forgetting half of them. I'm not going to go into too much detail, as this is jus

bottom of page