top of page
  • Jen

The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) by Holly Black

Pages: 370 pages

Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018

Genres: YA Fantasy


Alright, so I picked this up because of the hype, and I should've known that every single book I picked up because of hype, I have a lukewarm reaction to it. There are a couple exceptions, but this was not one. Honestly, I can't even say why it was flat for me it just was. I also kind of hate fairies. I feel like they are introduced just to make a character into a sex god or kidnap children.


What I liked:

The characters were morally grey (my favourite type of characters to read) and they had complex relationships. I liked the relationship between Jude and her captors, because it showed that it was wrong but it was an interesting way that it was done.

Jude wasn't likeable but for some reason I really liked her. She was capable and didn't need someone to help her, even though she was over powered by the fae, she was clever enough to compensate. The bullying she endured and how strong Jude became was interesting. Her sisters had interesting ways to deal with the captivity as well.

The princes were interesting in a cruel way.

Hot people doing hot things. This is literally why I love TVD, TO, Spike and Angel.


What I did not like:

The world building. There is a castle and a forest, but I couldn't picture it. Maybe this was my big issue? I like a combination of world building and characters, and the world building was very flat.

The court intrigue felt like it was trying to capitalize on Game of Thrones, it kind of worked but not that well.

There was something that Jude did that didn't really make sense.

The twist that we couldn't see coming due to the first person narration.


I will probably still read the next book in the series, because I liked it enough to continue even if I didn't love it. The characters are interesting and apparently the 2nd one is a lot better?


If you like fairies and hot people doing hot things give this book a try. I am in the minority of not loving it!


3/5

Cheers,

Jen

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Goodreads Pages: 308 Publication Date: September 4th, 2018 Genre: YA Mystery/YA Contemporary This is a story that initially seems like it's capitalizing on the success of Serial or one of the many oth

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

Goodreads Pages: 422 Publication Date: June 17th, 2014 Genre: Ya Fantasy This is the conclusion to the Shadow and Bone trilogy. The capital has fallen and the Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow thro

bottom of page