top of page
  • Jen

Girls Like Me by Kristen Butcher

Pages: 64

Publication Date: July 24th, 2019

Genre: YA Contemporary


**Thank you Netgalley and Orca Books for an ARC in exchange for an honest review**


This was a short story about a girl who gets raped and then has a miscarriage. Her friends have all left her because they think she's a slut. Her friend Jen was an obvious jealous friend until she had to deal with hardship.


I think the writing was good and the very first sentence brought me right into the story. It felt very high school in the shaming of the girls. I do think it serves its purpose of getting the idea out there and the emotions the girls go through in an easily digestible way.


3/5 stars

I'm knocking it from 4 stars to 3 stars because the mom pissed me off. The moms first instinct was that her girl was sleeping around. And she didn't believe that her daughter was raped. Instead the first things she said was what she wears sends the wrong message and she probably flirted with him and made him confuse. No. This is the wrong message to even bring up as a parent. That shouldn't be the first instinct when she's obviously upset. This isn't a regret upset and what she wears doesn't mean anything. It really pissed me off.

I did like the fact that it mentioned that the guy will keep doing it if you don't stop him from doing it. It's no different from serial cheaters or abusers. You need to talk abut it.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page