top of page
  • Jen

Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks



Pages: 384

Genre: Mystery/Thriller


**The ARC was provided by Harlequin -- Trade Publishing (US and Canada)**


Simon and his wife Daisy have a little girl. Simon is an alcoholic and as a result a terrible accident occurs. He goes to jail and there's the question of will Daisy end up with her old school friend?


lt seems as though most people either liked or hated this novel and I just fell in the middle. I was feeling lukewarm about the whole thing. A novel about terrible people was something that I tend to enjoy and it worked here. The representation of an alcoholism was very well done. The downward spiral of the sexual abuse and alcoholism was interesting. I personally wanted Daisy to do more to stop Simon dinking. There were twists and turns throughout the whole story, some that I did not see coming. I just found myself struggling to connect to the characters and the actual story, hence my lukewarm feel to this.


I struggled to like the epilogue twist and the kitten scene bothered me. I was intrigued by the preview and I'm happy that I read it. I can understand why people will dislike it and I can understand why people will love it. If you like more domestic based novels, out there twists and unlikeable people then I think you'll like it.


3/5 stars.

I recommend this novel to fans of domestic thrillers and domestic dramas.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

Goldilocks by Laura Lam

Goodreads: Pages: 352 Publication Date: April 30th, 2020 Genre: Sci-fi *Thank you Netgalley and Orbit Books for the Review** In a near future, with climate change and oppressive governments, woman hav

bottom of page