top of page
  • Jen

Goldilocks by Laura Lam

Pages: 352

Publication Date: April 30th, 2020

Genre: Sci-fi


*Thank you Netgalley and Orbit Books for the Review**


In a near future, with climate change and oppressive governments, woman have had their rights severally restricted. There are 5 woman astronauts, planning a mission to Space but at the last minute have the opportunity taken away from him. Naomi the leader, steals the spaceship. The mission is to go to Cavendish, which they are calling the final hope for the world.


The story is told in an alternating timeline between the past leading up to the mission and during the mission on the way to Cavendish. It's very much a slow-burn novel focusing on morality questions. I did think the characters were interesting, even if there wasn't a ton of development. This is something that I typically enjoy. Plus woman, space and science. Sold. It's important to know going in this is not a sci-fi thriller.


My big issue with the book was the world building. It was rather confusing at first and a lot was left very vague. There also wasn't a ton of character development. The parts we did learn about the world was plausible for how it got there and did make for a believable world.


I had an issue with the ending too.


4/5 stars.

I'd recommend this to fans of drama books and movies and space novels. If you liked Good Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-Dalton, I think you'd like this.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page