top of page
  • Jen

Of Curses and Kisses (St. Rosetta's Academy #1) by Sandhya Menon

Pages: 384

Expected Publication Date: February 18th, 2020

Genre: Contemporary


This is a contemporary retelling of Beauty and the Beast with an Indian lead, at a boarding school. Grey is cursed and hates human society, until he meets Jada. A princess and the two are drawn to each other.


*e-ARC provided by Simon and Schuster Canada and Netgally*


This book is hard for me to rate, since I didn't enjoy it, but I can see why a lot of people will like it. The writing and the story felt on the young end of YA to me. More targeted at 13/14 year olds, and I typically gravitate towards older YA. That was one issue that i had with it. I also don't typically like contemporary novels, unless they are hard hitting and deal with complex issues. This is my bad, because I should've researched it better, so that I would know what to expect. I didn't really connect with the characters either, they felt a little shallow to me. To be fair, this could have to do with the demographic its targeted for. I really wanted to enjoy it because of the diverse romance and a fairy tale retelling, but it just didn't work for me. Weirdly enough, I also struggle with books that are very much supposed to be fiction and then they have some random element of magic thrown in (aka magical realism), and this book felt that way to me. I prefer it to either be firmly grounded in fantasy or firmly grounded in realty. A lot of people will like the magical realism and the simplistic story i'm sure and the author I can tell is a good writer. I'd be interested in picking up another book from her (that's maybe strictly in the contemporary category).


2.5/5

I'd recommend this to younger readers of YA, and fans of magical realism. I think a lot of people will like this, especially fans of Beauty and the Beast but alas, it just wasn't for me.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page