top of page
  • Jen

Ruthless Gods (Something So Dark and Holy) by Emily A. Duncan

Pages: 386

Publication Date: April 7th, 2020

Genres: YA fantasy


**Thank you to Netgalley and St. Martin's Press for an ARC in exchange for an honest review**

This is a continuation of Wicked Saints and left right where it left off. Nadya does not trust her magic anymore and the Prince, the monster have their fates intertwined. The Prince is hearing voices in the night, the voices Nadya thinks are her gods and Malachiasz want to meet. These voices want a stake and will not be silenced any longer.

This is a bit of a middle book, I wasn't as into it as the first book. I did like how it kept how dark the first one was and felt like a natural continuation. I will say that I found it a bit forgettable, but that could be because I was reading it on my computer, not a physical book. I'm kind of worried if by the next novel, I will have forgotten everything that happened....

I liked how the characters aren't likeable and mess up in the novel. It makes them a lot more realistic and actually made me like them a lot more. They have some major flaws for sure, but it was very calculated and very well done. I'm really interested to see how this trilogy ends! The dark and gothic feel of the story just makes me so happy.

But I still did enjoy what i read (and remember), I love the world. The mixture of gods, magic and war is really intriguing to me.

4/5 Anyone who's a fan of YA fantasy or the Darklings should read this one.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page