top of page
  • Jen

The Memory Thief by Lauren Mansy

Pages: 320 (my edition was)

Publication Date: October 1st, 2019

Genre: YA Fantasy


**Thank you to Netgalley and Blink for an e-ARC in exchange for an honest review**


In Craewick, memories are currency. They are exceptionally important. Gifted individuals can take memories from individuals as they'd pleases.There are 4 kingdoms, one of which is ruled by Madam. This is where the book takes place. Etta wants to leave the culture, but when Madame threatens to put her mom up for auction, Etta rejoins the shadow group she left after the accident years earlier. She must steal a map of the Maze in a rival kingdom.


Doesn't that premise sound great? The cover and the summary drew me righting. Unfortunately it just didn't work for me. I'm not sure if it was a case of me or the story just wasn't great. I think I expected more, but the book just didn't grab me and I was left wanting more the whole way. The writing itself was good, and I'd be interesting in reading more of Mansey's work as she matures as a writer. I think the first 50 pages were great, but after that I was left kind of bored. I found it a little forgettable now that I'm done too.


2/5 stars

I think it's worth checking out, I just personally didn't feel it. I think this will be a novel that some people absolutely love and other don't like. This sometimes causes a novel to be more successful though! If you like YA fantasy (especially on the younger side of it) I'd recommend this to. I can certainly see how other people would like it.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page