top of page
  • Jen

The Night Swim by Megan Goldin

**Thank you Netgally and St. Martin's Press for an e-Arc in exchange for an honest revie


Rachel arrives at a small town to investigate the rape of a teenager girl by an 18 year old swimmer. She's a podcaster and wants to get the whole truth. Years ago, another girl named Jenny was also raped and mysteriously died.


Trigger warning: obviously for rape. And it's presented pretty brutally.


I can tell this was inspired by Serial, Sadie and the famous Brock Turner case. I think this was a good read, very quick. The story isn't a typical thriller in that most is done through Hannah's letters and the courtroom drama as opposed to it unfolding organically. The podcast element is fun and I like seeing more novels use this element in the story. It gave the story an organic vibe and Rachel made choices that made sense.


4/5 stars.

I think it was a good read but it wasn't really a mystery/thriller. It's more a contemporary watching rape cases in a town unfold. i would recommend it to fans of Serial, Sadie and courtroom dramas. This would be a great beach read (or potentially a great summer audio book).


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page