top of page
  • Jen

The Other Mrs. by Mary Kubica

**Thank you Netgalley and Harlequin - Trade Publishing (US and Canada) for the e-Arc!** This is a psychological thriller about a husband, wife and the other woman. The two leads have inherited a creepy house and niece and decide to move to the small town in Maine, from the bustling Chicago. This novel has some great things going for it: -Creepy houses. The atmosphere of the house is fantastic and just the right amount of creepy. There's also a strange niece to look after. -It's a murder in a small coastal town. I'm a sucker for small town secrets and I think this novel is great. What I didn't like: -The writing. This is my second Mary Kubica novel and her writing just doesn't work for me personally. It just doesn't engage me like a lot of other writers do. I don't feel myself being drawn in for a wild ride, instead I found myself bored and not really caring. This is a me problem, and I think a lot of people will love the writing. -I just didn't find it believable and because of the writing I found the twists lacklustre. 3/5 stars. I think if you like small town psychological thrillers I think its worth reading this. It has a lot going for it. If you like other Mary Kubica's this is great.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick

Goodreads: Genre: Mystery/Thriller, YA, YA Mystery/Thriller Pages: 384 Publication Date: June 30th, 2020 I meant to have this read by the 30th, but alas time was not on my side. **e-ARC provided provi

The Dark Tide by Alicia Jasinka

Goodreads Publication Date: June 2nd, 2020 Pages: 336 Genre: Fairytale Retelling, YA fantasy I was sold by the promise of it being a fairy tale, the wicked deep and witches. I saw Witches and Wicked D

bottom of page